Staff

Our DemocratsChairwoman Susan SweckerState Steering CommitteeStaffParty Organizations and Networks

Office of the Chairwoman

Susan Swecker, Chairwoman. Learn more about the Chairwoman.
Follow the Chairwoman on Twitter

Becca Slutzky, Executive Director

Rebecca is a native Virginian, having grown up in Charlottesville and is a veteran of both Virginia and national campaigns. She worked as a Regional Field Director for Hillary Clinton in 2008, Terry McAuliffe for Governor in 2009, Deeds for Governor 2009 and most recently managed a successful California statewide ballot initiative, Proposition 47, which implemented social justice reform.  Rebecca has a political science degree from Virginia Tech and a law degree from Santa Clara Law, Santa Clara, California. becca@vademocrats.org



Operations

Thomas Buneo, Deputy Executive Director, Chief Operating Officer

Tom joined the DPVA in February 2014. A New York native, Tom completed his Masters of Public Policy at George Mason University in 2013 and spent two years working at the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee. Tom is an Arlington, VA resident who likes to go running and travel. tom@vademocrats.org

Brittne Walker, Operations Director

Brittne joined DPVA in February of 2016. Born and raised in Arlington, TX, she started her political experience as an intern the Summer of 2013 for then Texas State Senator Wendy Davis. Brittne went on to organize for the Davis campaign in 2014. Before moving to Virginia, Brittne served as the Operations Manager for Annie’s List in Austin, TX. A graduate of Mills College in Oakland, CA, Brittne majored in English Literature and Women Studies. She enjoys spending her spare time improvising and baking. brittne@vademocrats.org


Finance

Danny Carroll, Finance Director

Danny joined the DPVA in February 2017. After growing up in Kansas City, Danny moved to Arizona in 2012 and got his start in politics by working on Dr. Richard Carmona’s U.S. Senate campaign. He enjoyed working as a democrat in Arizona and shortly thereafter worked as the Finance Director for Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema and most recently served as the Finance Director for Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick’s U.S. Senate campaign. Danny attended the University of Kansas where he studied political science. Outside of work you can find Danny nervously watching a Kansas basketball game as well as playing golf or any other recreational sport. danny@vademocrats.org

Gillian Pentheny, Deputy Finance Director 

Gillian joined the DPVA in May of 2016 after graduating with a political science and economics degree from the George Washington University.  Originally from Massachusetts, Gillian began her political career as an intern in the Washington DC office of Massachusetts Congressman Bill Keating in 2013.  In 2014 she worked as an intern for the American Federation of Musicians before working as an intern with the DPVA in the summer of 2015.  She spends her spare time practicing yoga and playing the flute. gillian@vademocrats.org


Political

Kees Nordin, Political Director

Kees joined the DPVA in June 2015. A Kentucky native with family ties in Virginia, Kees spent the last two years working for James Carville in New Orleans. Before working for James, Kees worked on campaigns in Washington, Kentucky, and New York. Kees graduated from Hobart College with a degree in Political Science and the only thing he loves as much as politics is sports. kees@vademocrats.org

 

Georgina Cannan, Voter Protection & Policy Director

Georgina started working for DPVA in September of 2015 and is a Virginia Native. She was the Voter Protection Director for the Democratic Coordinated Campaign in 2014 and has served as the co-chair of the DPVA Voter Protection Council. Georgina has a political science degree from Wheaton College in Massachusetts and a law degree from The George Washington University Law School. georgina@vademocrats.org


Communications

Katie Baker, Communications Director

After serving as communications director for the Virginia House Democratic Caucus for the 2017 legislative session, Katie joined DPVA in March 2017. She has worked for campaigns and political organizations in seven states and the District of Columbia, and most recently returned to Virginia after serving as communications director for the Maine Democratic Party during the 2016 cycle. An Ohio native, Katie holds a B.A. in English from Amherst College and a J.D. from William & Mary Law School. She loves dogs, the outdoors, country music, and Zumba.


Data

Brenner Tobe, Deputy Executive Director / CTO

Brenner has been working to help elect Democrats for the past 20 years.  Having served as the State IT Advisor for the DNC, Brenner came to Virginia in 2001 to implement one of the first statewide online voter files in the country for Mark Warner’s campaign. Since then, he has continued to bring new, innovative and technological tools to help our candidates meet the changing demands of today’s campaigns.   Brenner lives in Richmond with his wife Kelly, and daughters Caroline, Isabelle, and Annika. brenner@vademocrats.org

Shyam Raman, Data and Strategic Director

Shyam joined the DPVA in June 2015 after graduating from the University of Nebraska. Shyam began his political career as an Intern on a Senate campaign in Iowa. Later, in the fall of 2014, Shyam was a Field Organizer for the Iowa Democratic Coordinated Campaign in Des Moines. Following the election, Shyam returned to Nebraska to finish his last semester and intern for the Nebraska Democratic Party. Shyam is a die-hard St. Louis Cardinals fan and enjoys watching soccer, playing golf, and playing with his puppy Artoo. shyam@vademocrats.org

Joe Cutright, Digital Media Manager

Joe joined the DPVA in February 2016. A Richmond native, he earned his political science degree from Virginia Commonwealth University.  His political career started with an internship for the VA House Dems and as a field organizer in 2015.  Joe enjoys playing guitar, spending time with his dog Lilac and experimenting with new ways to promote Democratic ideals with technology. joe@vademocrats.org


Legislative Caucuses

House Democratic Caucus
Senate Democratic Caucus

Trent Armitage, Executive Director, House Democratic Caucus
Trent@VAHouseDems.org

Trevor Southerland, Deputy Executive Director and Finance Director, House Democratic Caucus
Trevor@VAHouseDems.org

Kiana Ham, Finance Assistant, House Democratic Caucus
Kiana@VAHouseDems.org

Katie Baker, Communications Director, House Democratic Caucus
Katie@VAHouseDems.org

Olivia Jennings, Press and Research Assistant, House Democratic Caucus
Olivia@VAHouseDems.org

Jessica David, Field Director, House Democratic Caucus
Jessica@VAHouseDems.org

Kristina Hagen, Executive Director, Senate Democratic Caucus
Kristina@VASenateDems.com

Micah Morris, Finance Director, Senate Democratic Caucus
Micah@VASenateDems.com

Jamie Nolan, Director, Joint Democratic Caucus
Jamie@vademocrats.org

Keep Virginia Blue

Join the Party