December 16, 2022 News & Press Releases

VA-04 Democratic Committee Announces Qualified Candidates for December 20, 2022 Firehouse Primary

by Democratic Party of Virginia

RICHMOND, VA – The Democratic Party of Virginia and the Fourth Congressional District Democratic Committee today announced that they have received the timely and complete candidate filing materials for the Firehouse Primary to be held on December 20, 2022 from the following individuals:

  • Joseph E. Preston
  • Jennifer L. McClellan
  • Joseph D. Morrissey
  • Tavorise K. Marks

In order to qualify to appear on the ballot in this Firehouse Primary, candidates must have collected at least 150 signatures from registered voters in the 4th Congressional District, have paid the $3,480 filing fee, and have completed the declaration of candidacy form, per the Call to Caucus. Candidates’ names will appear on Tuesday’s ballot, and are listed above, in the order in which their filing materials were received.

Polls will be open from 6:00 AM to 7:00 PM on Tuesday, December 20, 2022. Democratic voters registered in Virginia’s fourth congressional district can cast their ballot at any of the eight polling locations.

The winner of the Firehouse Primary will be the Democratic nominee for the Special Election to fill the unexpired term of Congressman A. Donald McEachin, to be held on February 21, 2022.