March 2, 2019 Press Releases and Announcements

Democratic Party of VA Announces 2018 Grassroots Award Winners

by DPVA Press Office

Democratic Party of VA Announces 2018 Grassroots Award Winners

RICHMOND, Va – Prior to the State Democratic Central Committee's quarterly meeting, Democratic Party of Virginia Chairwoman Susan Swecker announced the 2018 winners of the DPVA Grassroots Awards.

Congressional District Committees across the Commonwealth selected an awardee in their District whose tireless volunteer efforts in the 2018 election cycle exemplified the spirit of our Party and helped push Virginia forward in their community. These outstanding Democrats received their recognition this morning in Richmond.

1st CD - Don Barth of the Town of Ashland, Virginia

2nd CD - Lindsey Nathaniel of the City of Virginia Beach, Virginia

3rd CD - Michael Bostic of the City of Hampton, Virginia

4th CD - Ryan Ritter of the City of Chesapeake, Virginia

5th CD - Taikein Cooper of the Town of Farmville, Virginia

7th CD - Nancy Bowles and Eli Bowles of Goochland County, Virginia (Chairwoman Swecker's Awardees)

6th CD - Louis Garcia of the City of Roanoke, Virginia

8th CD - Bridget Kraft of the City of Falls Church, Virginia

9th CD - Karen Combs of Washington County, Virginia

10th CD - Heidi Zollo of the Town of Herndon, Virginia

11th CD - Stair Calhoun of the City of Falls Church, Virginia

"We are a bottom-up organization. The incredible victories we achieved last year - electing three fantastic congresswomen helping flip our Congressional delegation blue and re-electing our great Senator Tim Kaine - could not have happened without the labor of love that these amazing volunteers did in their community for our candidates. Congratulations to all those who were honored today - the recognitions were all richly deserved." - DPVA Chair Susan Swecker.