June 13, 2018 Press Releases and Announcements

GREAT NIGHT: DPVA Chairwoman Susan Swecker on 2018 Virginia Primary Results

by DPVA Press Office

GREAT NIGHT: DPVA Chairwoman Susan Swecker on 2018 Virginia Primary Results

RICHMOND, VA – Democratic Party of Virginia Chairwoman Susan Swecker released the following statement tonight following the Democratic and Republican primaries in Virginia.

"The blue wave that started in 2017 right here in the Commonwealth is as strong as ever and Virginia Democrats could not be more excited about this November’s elections.

While Virginia Republicans suffered yet another embarrassment by picking Donald Trump wanna-be and white supremacist empowering Corey Stewart, the most radical statewide candidate in Virginia. Senator Tim Kaine has spent his career fighting for civil rights, good jobs, and education for all Virginians. Corey Stewart has spent his spreading hate and engaging in destructive carnival barking.

Senator Kaine is committed to growing the Virginia economy and providing affordable health care options for those most in need. Corey Stewart is committed to Donald Trump’s sabotage of the American healthcare system and Trump’s disastrous trade war that is already costing Americans jobs. Virginia Democrats welcome this contrast.

Endangered and extreme Trump-devotees in Congress Barbara Comstock, Dave Brat, and Scott Taylor will limp into November under the weight of Donald Trump and Corey Stewart. On the other hand, we could not be more proud of the Democratic ticket that Tim Kaine will lead into the fall. Virginia Democrats will field a line-up of impressive and inspiring congressional candidates who will lead the charge in taking back the United States House of Representatives.

In VA10, Democrats nominated Senator Jennifer Wexton to take on 97% Trump voting and NRA #1 House of Representatives cash recipient Barbara Comstock, who barely broke 60% in her Republican primary tonight. Senator Wexton, a former prosecutor and child advocate, has time and again won tough elections while delivering results, including the expansion of Medicaid, for her constituents. Comstock on the other hand has made her mark avoiding town halls, voting the Trump line, and doing the NRA’s bidding.

In VA07, we are ecstatic about our nomine, former CIA Intelligence Officer Abigail Spanberger. Her energy, charisma, and commitment to public service will serve as an exceptional alternative to the far-right, Breitbart/Tea Party, conspiracy theories that have dominated Dave Brat’s tenure in Congress.

In VA02, Democrats will take on anti-Universal background check and 99% Trump-voting Congressman Scott Taylor with former Naval warfare officer and small business owner Elaine Luria. Elaine’s strength and commitment to service will be huge in flipping the Democratic-trending district blue.

In VA06, Jennifer Lewis, a mental health worker and community advocate, will be the perfect candidate to stop abortion extremist and Tea Partier Ben Cline from getting to Washington.

In VA01, we are thrilled that Vangie Williams, who has dedicated her career and her campaign to protecting health care rights and equal rights for all Virginians, will be taking the fight to anti-affordable health care, Trumpian Congressman Rob Wittman.

In VA09, Anthony Flaccavento’s commitment to conservation and improving the infrastructure of Southwest Virginia will be a welcome replacement to Morgan Griffith’s commitment to no one but himself and his far right patrons.

Tonight is another great one for Virginia Democrats! I congratulate all of our winners but also all of our very impressive candidates who came up short.

Tim Kaine and our ticket are ready to take their fight for a Virginia for All across the Commonwealth these next 5 months as we look towards big wins in November.