Staff

Our DemocratsChairwoman Susan SweckerState Steering CommitteeStaffPat Jennings Project

Office of the Chairwoman

Susan Swecker, Chairwoman. Learn more about the Chairwoman.
Follow the Chairwoman on Twitter

Chris Bolling, Executive Director

Chris served as DPVA’s deputy executive director in 2016, and has spent the last decade working on major Democratic campaigns, including those of Governor Terry McAuliffe, U.S. Sen. Tim Kaine, U.S. Sen. Mark Warner, President Barack Obama, and Secretary Hillary Clinton. He most recently served as the political director for Ralph Northam’s primary campaign.  A native Virginian, Bolling is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University. chris@vademocrats.org

Liddy Gallagher, Executive Assistant

Liddy joined the DPVA as a Coordinated Campaign intern in May 2017, and continued as a Political and Data intern in the Fall. A Virginia native, Liddy will graduate from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2018 with a degree in Political Science and Criminal Justice. In her free time Liddy enjoys playing with her cat Stitch, reading, singing, and traveling. liddy@vademocrats.org


Operations

Elise Vess, Operations Director

Elise joined the DPVA in December 2017.   A native Virginian, Elise began her political career as an Intern for Obama’s reelection campaign on the William and Mary campus.  After she graduated in 2013, Elise was a Field Organizer for Terry McAuliffe in her hometown of Chesapeake.  She continued to work for progressive candidates, but most recently served as an EMT.  Outside of work Elise can be found at the public library, playing with her dog Miss Liddy, or enjoying a friendly game of Scrabble with her fiance, Jennifer Glass. elise@vademocrats.org

Finance

Danny Carroll, Finance Director

Danny joined the DPVA in February 2017. After growing up in Kansas City, Danny moved to Arizona in 2012 and got his start in politics by working on Dr. Richard Carmona’s U.S. Senate campaign. He enjoyed working as a democrat in Arizona and shortly thereafter worked as the Finance Director for Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema and most recently served as the Finance Director for Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick’s U.S. Senate campaign. Danny attended the University of Kansas where he studied political science. Outside of work you can find Danny nervously watching a Kansas basketball game as well as playing golf or any other recreational sport. danny@vademocrats.org


Political

Shyam Raman, Political Director

Shyam joined the DPVA in June 2015 after graduating from the University of Nebraska. Shyam began his political career as an Intern on a Senate campaign in Iowa. Later, in the fall of 2014, Shyam was a Field Organizer for the Iowa Democratic Coordinated Campaign in Des Moines. Following the election, Shyam returned to Nebraska to finish his last semester and intern for the Nebraska Democratic Party. Shyam is a die-hard St. Louis Cardinals fan and enjoys cooking, watching soccer, playing golf, and playing with his puppy Artoo. shyam@vademocrats.org

 

Communications

Jake Rubenstein, Communications Director

Jake previously served as Aide to Governor Terry McAuliffe. Prior to his appointment to the McAuliffe Administration, Jake served as Confidential Assistant and Executive Aide to the Attorney General Mark Herring. Before that, he managed the successful re-election campaign of Penny Gross to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and has worked on multiple other campaigns, including the election of Governor McAuliffe in 2013. A die hard Steelers fan, Jake’s family has had season tickets for the last 80 years. jake@vademocrats.org


Data

Brenner Tobe, Deputy Executive Director / CTO

Brenner has been working to help elect Democrats for the past 20 years.  Having served as the State IT Advisor for the DNC, Brenner came to Virginia in 2001 to implement one of the first statewide online voter files in the country for Mark Warner’s campaign. Since then, he has continued to bring new, innovative and technological tools to help our candidates meet the changing demands of today’s campaigns.   Brenner lives in Richmond with his wife Kelly, and daughters Caroline, Isabelle, and Annika. brenner@vademocrats.org

 


Legislative Caucuses

House Democratic Caucus
Senate Democratic Caucus

Trevor Southerland, Deputy Executive Director and Finance Director, House Democratic Caucus
Trevor@VAHouseDems.org

Katie Baker, Communications Director, House Democratic Caucus
Katie@VAHouseDems.org

Kristina Hagen, Executive Director, Senate Democratic Caucus
Kristina@VASenateDems.com

Micah Morris, Finance Director, Senate Democratic Caucus
Micah@VASenateDems.com

Jamie Nolan, Director, Joint Democratic Caucus
Jamie@vademocrats.org

Keep Virginia Blue

Join the Party